Outlaw wins 15/15 Bucking Battle in Sioux Falls

Chase Outlaw picked up his first 15/15 Bucking Battle win since 2015 Saturday night. Photo: Andy Watson / BullStockMedia.com


  • Chase Outlaw won the 15/15 Bucking Battle Saturday night after a 90.5-point ride on Cooper Tires Brown Sugar.
  • Jess Lockwood finished second in the special round after a 90.25-point ride on BC Circular Insanity, his first since returning from injury.
  • Earlier in the evening, Cooper Davis took the win in Round 2 of the First PREMIER Bank PREMIER Bankcard Invitational.

In This Article

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Chase Outlaw (Hamburg, Arkansas) continued his career-making year on the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) Built Ford Tough Series (BFTS) by adding a victory in the fourth 15/15 Bucking Battle of the season to his resume Saturday night at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center. Outlaw’s win came after Round 2 of the First PREMIER Bank PREMIER Bankcard Invitational.

Outlaw rode Cooper Tires Brown Sugar (Dakota Rodeo-Berger/Struve) for 90.5 points to secure the win in the special round. It was his first since taking the St. Louis 15/15 Bucking Battle in 2015, and the third overall of his career. Outlaw’s performance earned him 150 points toward the PBR world standings and $11,500.

2016 PBR Rookie of the Year Jess Lockwood (Volburg, Montana) returned to competition in style after recovering from a groin injury with a 90.25-point trip aboard BC Circular Insanity (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/H&C Bucking Bulls) to finish second in the special round. The ride was Lockwood’s first since January, when he rode the very same bull to claim his second BFTS event victory in Sacramento, California. Lockwood earned 90 world points for the effort, along with $9,500.

Lockwood (No. 2) and Outlaw (No. 3) both gained ground on current world leader Eduardo Aparecido (Gouvlenadia, Brazil), who was injured earlier in Round 2 and did not compete in the 15/15 Bucking Battle. Lockwood trails Aparecido by 1,127.5 points, while Outlaw is 1,130.84 points behind.

SweetPro’s Bruiser (D&H Cattle Co./Buck Cattle Co.) was the top bull of the round after tossing Derek Kolbaba (Walla Walla, Washington) and earning a 46.25-point bull score.

Fans can see all the action from the 15/15 Bucking Battle on CBS starting at 2:30 p.m. ET

Earlier in the evening, 2016 PBR World Champion Cooper Davis (Jasper, Texas) picked up the win in Round 2 after an 89.5-point ride on Udder Lover (D&H Cattle Co/Bob & Jeri Adams). It was Davis’ fourth BFTS round win of the season and his second in consecutive events after winning the Built Ford Tough Championship Round last weekend in Glendale, Arizona. Davis earned 100 points toward the world standings and $3,580 for the Round 2 win.

Two-time PBR World Champion J.B. Mauney (Mooresville, North Carolina) and Matt Triplett (Columbia Falls, Montana) tied for second place in Round 2 with matching 87.25-point rides. Mauney reached 8 seconds on Red Rocket (Broken Arrow Bucking Bulls) while Triplett covered Red Sails In The Sunset (Dakota Rodeo-Berger/Struve/Heald) for his second ride of the weekend. The pair each took home 55 points toward the world standings and $2,375.

Cody Nance (Paris, Tennessee) was not far behind after he rode Dirt Man Do (Halpain Bucking Bulls) for 87 points to finish in fourth place. It was Nance’s fifth ride in his last eight BFTS outs, and it netted him 40 world points and a $1,300 paycheck.

Guilherme Marchi (Leme, Brazil) moved within two rides of the historic 600-ride milestone when he covered Banjo (Bierema Rodeo Inc.) for 84.75 points to finish in a four-way tie for fifth place in Round 2. The trip was the 598th BFTS qualified ride of his career. Marchi will get a chance to make history on Championship Sunday if he rides in Round 3 and qualifies for the championship round.

2004 PBR World Champion Mike Lee (Decatur, Texas), Fabiano Vieira (Perola, Brazil) and 2015 PBR Brazil Champion Luciano de Castro (Guzolandia, Brazil) each earned a share of fifth place as well after their own 84.75-point rides.

Lee did his job against Bull Express (Bierema Rodeo Inc.) while Vieira rode Legacy (Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger/Clay Struve/Heald Pro Bulls) to earn his share. Castro rounded out the four-way tie after he covered Stress Test (L&E Bull Co.).

Each rider earned 12.5 points toward the world standings and $567 for the effort.

On Sunday the PBR’s best will return to the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center one more time for the conclusion of the First PREMIER Bank PREMIER Bankcard Invitational. Each rider will take on one more bull in Round 3 before the Top 15 move on to the Built Ford Tough Championship Round where a winner will be crowned.

Championship Sunday action begins at 2:30 p.m. ET on PBR LIVE and the PBR LIVE app. CBS Sports Network will also broadcast Championship Sunday starting at 5:30 p.m. ET. 

PBR Digital Editor Kristian Limas contributed to this report. 

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
15/15 Bucking Battle, First PREMIER Bank PREMIER Bankcard Invitational
Denny Sanford PREMIER Center, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Event Leaders (Round 1-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Chase Outlaw, 90.5-90.50-150 Points.
2. Jess Lockwood, 90.25-90.25-90 Points.
Kaique Pacheco, 0-0.00
Derek Kolbaba, 0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0.00
Cooper Davis, 0-0.00
Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0.00
Joao Ricardo Vieira, 0-0.00
J.B. Mauney, 0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0.00
Silvano Alves, 0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0.00
Guilherme Marchi, 0-0.00

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
First PREMIER Bank PREMIER Bankcard Invitational
Denny Sanford PREMIER Center, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Event Leaders (Round 1-Round 2-Round 3-Round 4-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

1. Cooper Davis, 0-89.5-0-0-89.50-100 Points.
(tie). Joao Ricardo Vieira, 87.75-0-0-0-87.75-100 Points.
3. Matt Triplett, 82.25-87.25-0-0-169.50-85 Points.
4. J.B. Mauney, 0-87.25-0-0-87.25-55 Points.
(tie). Dakota Buttar, 86.5-84.5-0-0-171.00-55 Points.
(tie). Troy Wilkinson, 86.5-0-0-0-86.50-55 Points.
7. Cody Nance, 0-87-0-0-87.00-40 Points.
(tie). Robson Aragao, 84.5-0-0-0-84.50-40 Points.
9. Kaique Pacheco, 69-84-0-0-153.00-15 Points.
10. Guilherme Marchi, 0-84.75-0-0-84.75-12.5 Points.
(tie). Fabiano Vieira, 0-84.75-0-0-84.75-12.5 Points.
(tie). Luciano De Castro, 0-84.75-0-0-84.75-12.5 Points.
(tie). Mike Lee, 0-84.75-0-0-84.75-12.5 Points.
14. Stetson Lawrence, 0-83.5-0-0-83.50
15. Derek Kolbaba, 0-83.25-0-0-83.25
16. Marco Antonio Eguchi, 0-79-0-0-79.00
(tie). Silvano Alves, 0-79-0-0-79.00
Eduardo Aparecido, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Jess Lockwood, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Chase Outlaw, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Rubens Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Mason Lowe, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Stormy Wing, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Ryan Dirteater, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Dener Barbosa, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Claudio Montanha Jr., 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Teel, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Koal Livingston, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Brady Sims, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Cody Rodeo Tyler, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Gage Gay, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Reese Cates, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Luis Blanco, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Alex Marcilio, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Emilio Resende, 0-0-0-0-0.00
Kyle Jones, 0-0-0-0-0.00

© 2018 PBR Inc. All rights reserved.